Connect with us


Lagos State Election Update- GRV And Funke Akindele Loses Polling Unit To Sanwo-Olu



On March 18, 2022, the governorship candidate of the Labour Party in Lagos, Gbadebo Rhodes-Vivour lost his polling unit to the incumbent governor, Babajide Sanwo-Olu. Gbadebo, who is believed to be one of the three candidates in the race, cast his vote at polling unit 045 in Oshifila/Abule Igbora, Anifowoshe, Ikeja.

Funke Akindele, Sanwo-Olu And GRV

According to the result uploaded on INEC portal, Gbadebo scored 18 votes while Sanwo-Olu secured 29 votes. The governorship candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Abdul-Azeez Adediran, better known as Jandor, came in a distant third with just two votes at the polling unit.


The result of this polling unit shows a significant lead for the incumbent governor, Babajide Sanwo-Olu, who is seeking re-election under the All Progressives Congress (APC) platform. The election was keenly contested by various political parties and candidates, with each hoping to clinch the governorship seat.


Gbadebo Rhodes-Vivour, a former judge of the Lagos State High Court, had promised to focus on security, education, healthcare, and employment opportunities for Lagosians if elected as governor. However, his defeat at his polling unit shows that he has a lot of work to do in gaining more support from voters across the state.


The governorship election in Lagos State is crucial, as the state is the economic hub of Nigeria, with a population of over 21 million people. The state also has the highest number of registered voters in the country, making it a strategic battleground for political parties.


Funke Akindele loses polling unit to APC

The Lagos State gubernatorial election held on Saturday, March 18, 2023, saw Funke Akindele, the deputy governorship candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), lose her polling unit to the incumbent governor and candidate of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), Babajide Sanwo-Olu.

Akindele, who is known for her acting prowess, cast her vote at polling unit 019 in Ita Aro Square, Àga/Ijimu ward in Ikorodu, Lagos State. However, according to the results uploaded on the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) portal, the actress garnered a total of 19 votes, while Sanwo-Olu secured a whopping 77 votes.

The Lagos State gubernatorial election was keenly contested by various political parties, including the ruling APC, PDP, Labour Party, and many others. However, the APC emerged victorious with Sanwo-Olu winning his re-election bid and securing a second term in office as the governor of Lagos State.

As the results of the governorship election continue to trickle in, it remains to be seen who will emerge as the winner of the election and lead the state for the next four years

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

< /div>
error: Content is protected !!
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap